Teacher Recognition

The Duluth Cluster Schools Foundation established the Dr. Savitri Chandrasekhar Professional Development Award in 2010 based on a generous donation by Mr. T.K. Ganesh, president and CEO of Scintel Technologies. The donation was made in memory of Mr. Ganesh’s sister, Dr. Savitri Chandrasekhar.

Dr. Chandrasekhar was a noted chemist and educator at the University of Toronto, dedicated to her students and her profession. In the field of education, there are many who touch the lives of their students and colleagues in a quiet, meaningful way through their passion for learning. Dr. Chandrasekhar was that type of individual and we are honored to name our professional development award after her.

Criteria for Selection

The Professional Development Award is presented annually to teachers or administrators of the Duluth Cluster Schools that has demonstrated professional achievement and community involvement that reflects the excellence that the DCSF encourages all our teachers/administrators to achieve through their work with students. Three $250 awards are presented at the DCSF Annual Meeting each April, one for each of the key tenants of the Foundation: Arts, Academics and Athletics.